Degree Courses Of Study

The M.S. in Computer Forensics requires the completion of a minimum of 30 hours of graduate course work with a GPA of 3.000, or higher. The CFRS program is split into two elements: a Core component of 18 credit hours (15 credit hours plus a mandatory, 3-credit, capstone course that is taken towards the end of the degree) and an Elective component of 12 credit hours.

Coursework will progress from core courses to more advanced specialty courses, culminating in a capstone project course. Both 600- and 700-level core courses are designed to establish a solid foundation for subsequent work beyond the master's level.

CFRS Core Component:

The Core component consists of the following courses:

  1. CFRS 500 Introduction to Forensic Technology and Analysis
    or ISA 562 Information Security Theory and Practice
  2. CFRS 660 Network Forensics
  3. CFRS 661 Digital Media Forensics
  4. CFRS 664 Incident Response Forensics
  5. CFRS 760 Legal and Ethics in IT
    or CFRS 770 Fraud and Forensics in Accounting
  6. CFRS 790 Advanced Computer Forensics (CFRS Degree Capstone Course)

The Core component includes six courses grouped into four elements, with each individual course being 3 credit hours:

  • A mandatory introductory course must be taken in the first semester of the student's M.S. in Computer Forensics degree program. This course may be either CFRS 500 or ISA 562. (3 credits)
  • Three Forensics courses (CFRS 660, 661, and 664) that may be taken in any order, but which should be completed within the first 18 credit hours of the student's degree program (total of 9 credits)
  • One Ethics course that may be selected from a pair of Ethics courses (CFRS 760 and 770), and which may be taken at any point in the program (3 credits); and
  • A Capstone Project Course (CFRS 790) that may not be taken until at least 18 credit hours have been earned within the CFRS degree program (3 credits).

CFRS Elective (Specialty) Component:

The Elective component consists of a number of specialty topic courses, again each of 3 credit hours, and students are required to select four of these courses. Some students may wish to broaden their curriculum with a sociology or law course, while others may wish to focus on information security assurance (ISA) or computer engineering (ECE) courses as part of their preparation for a Ph.D. program.

The specialty courses include:

  1. CFRS 510 Digital Forensics Analysis
  2. CFRS 663 Operation of Intrusion Detection for Forensics
  3. CFRS 760 Legal and Ethics in IT
  4. CFRS 770 Fraud and Forensics in Accounting
  5. CFRS 761 Malware Reverse Engineering
  6. CFRS 762 Mobile Device Forensics
  7. CFRS 763 Registry Forensics – Windows
  8. CFRS 764 MAC Forensics
  9. CFRS 767 Pen Testing & Ethical Hacking
  10. CFRS 780 Advanced Topics in Computer Forensics
  11. ECE 511 Microprocessors
  12. ECE 746 Secure TelecommunicationSystems
  13. FRSC 510 Crime Scene Analysis
  14. ISA 562 Info Sec Theory and Practice
  15. ISA 650 Security Policy
  16. ISA 652 Security Audit/Compliance Testing
  17. ISA 656 Network Security
  18. ISA 674 Intrusion Detection
  19. ISA 785 Research in Digital Forensics
  20. TCOM 662 Advanced Secure Networking

The specialty courses are designed to provide students with advanced, more specialized, graduate level studies. It is likely that additional elective courses will be added as the field of forensics expands, both in breadth and depth.